The Eldon F. Lundquist Award -- 2017

The late Eldon F. Lundquist of Elkhart was a distinguished long-time member of the Indiana legislature. He is remembered especially for his ardent support of higher education in this state. In 1979 his friends established an IU fund in his honor. Since 1985 the income from this fund has been used to make an annual Lundquist Faculty Fellow award. The governing clause from the Instructions for the Administration of the Fund reads as follows.

The award shall be made to a meritorious faculty member of Indiana University, South Bend Campus, who has exhibited excellence in teaching, scholarly or artistic achievement, and diversified relevant service, preferably in community service throughout the Michiana region.

The award consists of a $5,000 honorarium. Each Lundquist Fellow is expected to present an address at the public ceremony at which his/her successor is announced.

The Senate Academic Personnel Committee, which serves as the selection committee, seeks your nominations of worthy candidates for this award.


Tenured faculty members and librarians may be nominated.

While senior rank or a specific length of employment is not required, a long and continuous record in the Michiana area and at IU South Bend is desirable.

Nomination Procedure

Candidates for the award may be nominated by a colleague, by a member of the community, or by the selection committee.

The letter of nomination should include a list of the names of those individuals from whom supporting letters have been or will be solicited.

The list should include individuals outside IU South Bend who can help the committee evaluate the candidate's public service.

The letter of nomination should describe the candidate's achievements in the areas of teaching, scholarly or artistic activity, and service (for librarians the activities appropriate to librarianship will be included in the teaching area).

The nominator or candidate must provide a curriculum vitae documenting the appropriate achievements.

The committee asks that the materials submitted in support of a candidate be condensed so as to fit in a one-inch ring binder.

Letters of nomination, supporting letters, and other documents should be submitted electronically to the Chair:

Joe Chaney
Chair, Academic Personnel Committee

Important Dates 

Letters of nomination must be received by November 15, 2016.

Supporting letters and other documentation must be received by January 15, 2017.

The selection committee will not consider a candidate's nomination for the award unless all supporting letters (from the individuals listed in the letter of nomination) and all promised documentation are received by this deadline.

Past Eldon F. Lundquist Award Recipients

Last updated: January, 12, 2017