New Music Ensemble features student composers

ensembleThe IU South Bend New Music Ensemble presents a concert on Wednesday, March 20, featuring new works by IU South Bend student composers Katherine Price, Alec Radecki, and Spencer Scullion. Assistant Professor of Music John Mayrose directs the ensemble.

Devoted to fostering 20th-century and new music, the IU South Bend New Music Ensemble is a group with three main objectives: to promote new music and create new audiences, to provide student performers participating in the ensemble with the practice and tools to perform the most current music, and to serve as a platform for IU South Bend composition students to experiment and create new compositions.

This concert will feature the world premiere of Katherine Prices’s Stardust for piano and strings, Alec Radecki's String Quartet, and Spencer Scullion's Three Abstract Preludes for piano. The concert will also include the performance of a work by American composer Morton Feldman.

Tickets for the New Music Ensemble are available to adults and senior citizens for $5-$9 from the Ernestine M. Raclin School of the Arts box office. Students and children receive free admission, however tickets are required. For more information or to get tickets online visit or call the box office at 574.520.4203.

New Music Ensemble
7:30 pm Wednesday, March 20
Campus Auditorium, Northside Hall
Tickets $5-$9 | Free to student/children | 574.520.4203