Fountain in the spring

Arts Excellence Awards and Commencement close the semester

Jeremy JonesIU South Bend and the Ernestine M. Raclin School of the Arts will celebrate the 48th annual commencement ceremonies on May 13, beginning at 6pm at the Joyce Center on the University of Notre Dame campus. Fifty-six Ernestine M. Raclin School of the Arts students are expected to graduate, with an additional 34 scheduled to walk at the wrap of the academic year.

“It feels great,” says Helen Pappas, a violinist on the eve of completing her bachelor of music. “I’ll miss all of my professors. They really have been amazing.”

Pappas is among 16 Ernestine M. Raclin School of the Arts students chosen for this year’s Arts Excellence Awards. Recipients were recognized May 1 for outstanding academic achievement in their respective disciplines.

Winners include Marlon Burnley, theatre and dance; Katherine Corpe, drawing and painting; Lillian Hubbard, graphic design; Jeremy Jones, drawing and painting; Ashley Katlun, mass communication; Natalie Mills, photography; Helen Pappas, music; Cecelia Roeder, writing; Kelly Sadural, printmaking; Kathryn Smith, communication studies and leadership; Mark Sniadecki, integrated new media studies, Natasha Stojanovska, music; Alyssa Utter, speech communication; Sarah Ward, writing; Jeremey Weyer, theatre and dance; and Dan Wolters, sculpture.

“Everybody has their struggles to get through with college,” says junior Cecelia Roeder. “For them to think I was worthy enough for this award was very humbling.”

 “I’m going to be editor-in-chief of the Preface next year,” Roeder says in anticipation of her upcoming senior year. “I hope to take it places and expand it in ways that have yet be seen with the paper.”

Over 200 Raclin School of the Arts students were honored during the ceremony for their accomplishments, including attaining the Dean’s List, receiving a scholarship for 2014-15, or attaining an Arts Excellence Award.