Saksena Receives Legacy Award

Thursday, January 13, 2011

P. N. Saksena, assistant dean of the School of Business and Economics, director of Graduate Studies and professor of accounting at Indiana University South Bend, received the 2011 Faculty Legacy Award from the IU South Bend Alumni Association.
The award was made during the campus spring semester breakfast for faculty and staff.

The award recognizes full-time faculty members who have made a significant impact on the lives of students. The Alumni Association will award a $500 scholarship in Saksena’s honor. Faculty, staff or alumni are eligible to nominate a faculty member.
Saksena has received more than 20 awards for teaching including the IU President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, IU South Bend Distinguished Teaching Award, Faculty of the Year Award and Outstanding Educator of the Year Award.
He is the faculty advisor of the campus Accounting Association, and president of the school’s Beta Gamma Sigma chapter, the international honor society for business programs.  Saksena has been on the faculty since 1995. He received his doctorate from the University of Georgia.
Randy Isaacson, associate professor of education; Thomas Miller, professor of theater; and Neovi Karakatsanis, associate professor of political science, were the past recipients.