The 21st Midwest Artificial Intelligence and
Cognitive Science Conference (MAICS 2010)

April 17-18, 2010

Indiana University South Bend
Department of Computer and Information Sciences

South Bend, Indiana

The MAICS conference is a regional forum for presenting and exchanging ideas related to Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Science. This peer-reviewed conference brings together researchers and scientists working in the fields of Artificial Intelligence, Cognitive Science, Education, Linguistics, Philosophy, and Psychology.

Topics of interest for submission include, but are not limited to:

Artificial Intelligence, Cognitive Science, Neural Networks, Computational Intelligence, Intelligent Systems, Natural Language Processing & Understanding, Computational Linguistics, Logic and Reasoning, Evolutionary Computation, Machine Learning, Computational Theories of Learning, Web Intelligence Applications, Decision Support Systems, Data Mining & Visualization, Knowledge Representation & Management

Graduate students and junior faculty are especially encouraged to submit papers. Submitted papers may present significant final results or describe interesting research in progress. The broad range of topics together with the fact that usually only a limited number of papers are accepted, and presentations by well known scientists, make the MAICS conference a very special event that has served as a first time presentation opportunity for many graduate students. In recent years MAICS has also attracted a significant interest from international participants.

Submission procedure: send the paper in PDF or MS Word format by email to maics [at] Papers should range in length from four to eight two-column pages including figures and references using the AAAI format ( The authors will retain the copyright.

Important Dates:

  • Deadline for paper submission: March 1, 2010. Extended.
  • Notification of provisional acceptance and reviews: March 22, 2010.
  • Final version of papers due: April 5, 2010.

Program Chair: Dana Vrajitoru
Department of Computer and Information Sciences
Indiana University South Bend

danav [at]

Program Commitee:
Hani Abu-Salem - University of South Carolina - Aiken
Eric Berkowitz - Roosevelt University
Dale E. Courte - University of Dayton
Valerie Cross - Miami University, Ohio
Martha W. Evens - Illinois Institute of Technology
Michael Glass - Valparaiso University
Suranga Hettiarachchi - Indiana University Southeast
Vasant Honavar - Iowa State University
Atsushi Inoue - Eastern Washington University
Boris Kerkez - Ashland University
Beomjin Kim - Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne
Jung Hee Kim - North Carolina A&T State University
Byoung Jik Lee - Western Illinois University
Murli Nair - Indiana University South Bend
Carla Purdy - University of Cincinnati
Anca Ralescu - University of Cincinnati
Muhammad Asadur Rahman - Clayton State University
Michael R. Scheessele - Indiana University South Bend
Jennifer Seitzer - University of Dayton
Thomas Sudkamp - Wright State University
Jin Tian - Iowa State University
Noriko Tomuro - DePaul University
Sofia Visa - The College of Wooster
James Wolfer - Indiana University South Bend