Outside SAC

July 1, 2012

Dear Alumni:

My name is Michael Darnel, and I am the new department chair for the Department of Mathematical Sciences at Indiana University South Bend.  I have been a member of the Department for 28 years, and I have seen the program grow and change in many important ways over those years, all in ways that have benefited our students. If you have time, please visit our departmental web page, where there are many helpful pieces of information for our students and information about our program and faculty.

The last letter to alumni was written in 2004 by Dr. Yu Song, after he had been chair for one year.  He has now finished a very successful nine years as department chair and is looking forward to having time to concentrate on his teaching and his mathematical interests.  During that time, three persons served as his associate chairs:  Dr. Dean Alvis, Dr. Anne Brown, myself (for one semester while Anne Brown was on sabbatical), and Anne Brown again.  During this period, Dr. Lynn Williams became Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and retired from that position and from our department in spring 2010.  Drs. Paul Beem, William J. Frascella, and Chang Choi also retired:  Paul in 2004, Bill in 2006, and Chang Choi in 2012.  I regret to inform you that 2011-2012 also saw the deaths of two of our emeriti professors:  Dr. Edward Specht died last fall and Dr. Paul Beem died this spring.

During this time, Dr. Zhong Guan was promoted to Associate Professor and Drs. Yi Cheng and Anne Brown (in that order) were promoted to full professor.  Sushma Agarwal, Dennis Wolf, and Mihaela Vajiac were promoted to Senior Lecturer status as well.

Retirements, resignations, and growth of the program have brought several new people into the department since 2004.  Drs. Shanqin Chen, Anna Savvapoulou, Peter Connor, and Caroline Shapcott are Assistant Professors, and the Department has just added three new lecturers: John Pankow, Nuran Bradley, and Kyle Schwieterman.

Dr. Peter Connor is our current Math Club adviser and Dr. Morteza Shafii-Mousavi is the advisor for the Actuarial Club.

An exciting innovation to our program is that the Department has developed two scholarship programs.  One, the Dorothy Allen Memorial Scholarship, was established in memory of our adjunct colleague and benefactress Dee Allen, and is being used to provide scholarships for students with international background and/or experience.  The other is the IUSB Faculty and Alumni Scholarship for Excellence in Mathematical Sciences and will be used to give scholarships to outstanding students in mathematics.

We would like to invite you to make suggestions about our programs, visit us whenever you are in town, and possibly give a short presentation to our current students. Or, just stop by and talk with your former professors and/or me. Please feel free to contact me by writing, phone or preferably by email (

In order to establish an e-newsletter for alumni, I would appreciate it if you could provide us with an email address. Please respond to me by email and indicate if you want to keep your email private or public in terms of sharing with other alumni. You could also submit a short paragraph about yourself, if you like. We are interested in what you are doing and how your IU South Bend education has affected your life. I am looking forward to receiving your email. Click here ( to send me an email. Thank you!

Best wishes,

Michael Darnel,
Chair, Department of Mathematical Sciences
Indiana University South Bend
South Bend, Indiana 46634

(574) 520-4296