Skip to main site navigation
Skip to main content
Switch to text-only view
Switch to default view

Faculty and Staff


Follow the links below to display information about faculty members. Photograph of Math Faculty

Professor:
Anne Brown
Yi Cheng
Michael Darnel
Morteza Shafii-Mousavi

Associate Professor:
Shanqin Chen
Zhong Guan
Yu Song

Assistant Professor:
Peter Connor
Anna Savvopoulou
Caroline Shapcott

Adjunct Professor of
    Actuarial Science:

Ali Ishaq

Senior Lecturer:
Sushma Agarwal
Mihaela Vajiac
Dennis Wolf

Lecturer:
Nuran Bradley
John Pankow

ACE Lecturer:
Kyle Schwieterman
 
Emeritus Faculty:                      Dean Alvis
Chang Choi
William J. Frascella
Lynn R. Williams

Associate Faculty:
John Babcock
Richard Cook
Judith Dalka
David Ehlert
Kimberly Griffiths
Melanie Groves
Janet Hall
Nancy Janosik
Susan Kintzele
Patricia Lewis
Rosalyn Lewis
James Mueller
Catherine Pace
Amanda Serenevy
Craig Sumerix
Elaine Throm
Dennis Vandenberg

 

 

 


Sushma Agarwal

rank:   Senior Lecturer
office:   NS315
phone:   (574) 520-4327
e-mail:   sagarwal@iusb.edu



Dean Alvis

rank:   Emeritus Faculty
degree:   Ph.D., University of Oregon, 1980
interests:   Representations and characters of finite groups
e-mail:   dalvis@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~dalvis



John Babcock

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS347
phone:   (574) 520-4542
e-mail:   johbabco@iusb.edu


 


Richard Cook
 
rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS347
phone:   (574) 520-4542
e-mail:   rcook@iusb.edu



Nuran Bradley

rank:   Lecturer
office:   NS305
phone:   (574) 520-5575
e-mail:   nbradley@iusb.edu



Anne Brown

rank:   Professor
degree:   Ph.D., Brandeis University, 1984
interests:   Collegiate mathematics education, mathematical preparation of teachers
office:   NS307
phone:   (574) 520-4427
e-mail:   abrown@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~abrown



Shanqin Chen

rank:   Associate Professor
degree:   Ph.D., Brown University, 2005
interests:   Numerical analysis, scientific computing, computational biology
office:   NS373
phone:   (574) 520-4316
e-mail:   chen39@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~chen39



Yi Cheng, Associate Chair, Department of Mathematical Sciences

rank:   Professor
degree:   Ph.D., Statistics, University of Minnesota, 1992
interests:   Clinical trial methodology, Bayesian methods, sequential decision making
office:   NS321
phone:   (574) 520-4519
e-mail:   ycheng@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~ycheng



Chang Choi

rank:   Emeritus Faculty
degree:   Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1968
interests:   Character theory of multiply transitive permutation groups, translation of Japanese mathematics into English
e-mail:   cchoi@iusb.edu



Peter Connor

rank:   Assistant Professor
degree:   Ph.D., Indiana University, 2009
interests:   Differential geometry, geometric analysis, minimal surfaces
office:   NS375
phone:   (574) 520-5142
e-mail:   pconnor@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~pconnor



Judith Dalka

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   OC- Elkhart Center
phone:   (574) 520-4000
e-mail:   jkdalka@iusb.edu



Michael Darnel, Chair, Department of Mathematical Sciences

rank:   Professor
degree:   Ph.D., University of Kansas, 1983
interests:   Ordered algebraic systems
office:   NS325
phone:   (574) 520-4296
e-mail:   mdarnel@iusb.edu



David Ehlert

rank:   Associate Faculty
degree:   Ph.D. in Mathematics, University of Chicago, 1968
office:   NS347
phone:   (574) 520-4542
e-mail:   dehlert@iusb.edu



William J. Frascella

rank:   Emeritus Faculty
degree:   Ph.D., Mathematics, University of Notre Dame, 1966
Ph.D., Philosophy, University of Notre Dame, 1978
interests:   Philosophy of mathematics, history of mathematics
office:   NS308
phone:   (574) 520-4379
e-mail:   frascell@iusb.edu




Kimberly Griffiths

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS308
phone:   (574) 520-4379
e-mail:   kimagrif@iusb.edu


 


Melanie Groves
rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   OnLine Only
phone:   (574) 520-4335
e-mail:   mmgroves@iusb.edu



Zhong Guan

rank:   Associate Professor
degree:   Ph.D., Statistics, University of Toledo, 2001
interests:   Bioinformatics and statistics: applications of statistics, empirical likelihood and gene expression microarray data analysis
office:   NS327
phone:   (574) 520-4430
e-mail:   zguan@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~zguan



Janet Hall

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS308
phone:   (574) 520-4379
e-mail:   jhall@iusb.edu



Ali Ishaq

rank:   Adjunct Professor of Actuarial Science
degree:   Fellow of Casualty Actuarial Society
office:   Off Campus
phone:   (574) 520-4335
e-mail:   aliishaq@iusb.edu



Nancy Janosik

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS303
phone:   (574) 520-4541
e-mail:   njanosik@iusb.edu



Susan Kintzele

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS347
phone:   (574) 520-4542
e-mail:   skintzel@iusb.edu



Patricia Lewis

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS303
phone:   (574) 520-4541
e-mail:   palewis@iusb.edu



Rosalyn Lewis

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS303
phone:   (574) 520-4541
e-mail:   rdlewis@iusb.edu



James Mueller

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   OC - Ekkhart Center
phone:   (574) 520-4000
e-mail:   muellejs@iusb.edu



Catherine Pace

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   OnLine Only
phone:   (574) 520-4335
e-mail:   cbpace@iusb.edu



John Pankow

rank:   Lecturer
office:   NS311
phone:   (574) 520-4325
e-mail:   jpankow@iusb.edu



Anna Savvopoulou

rank:   Assistant Professor
degree:   Ph.D., SUNY Albany, 2009
interests:   Probability, ergodic theory, harmonic analysis, analytic number theory
office:   NS317
phone:   (574) 520-4240
e-mail:   annsavvo@iusb.edu



Kyle Schwieterman

rank:   ACE Lecturer
office:   NS345
phone:   (574) 520-4665
e-mail:   kschwiet@iusb.edu



Amanda Serenevy

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS308
phone:   (574) 520-4379
e-mail:   Amanda@riverbendmath.org



Morteza Shafii-Mousavi

rank:   Professor
degree:   Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo, 1979
interests:   Distribution theory, partial differential operators, mathematical modeling, mathematics education
office:   NS323
phone:   (574) 520-4516
e-mail:   mshafii@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~mshafii



Caroline Shapcott

rank:   Assistant Professor
degree:   Ph.D., Drexel University, 2012
interests:   Discrete mathematics, analytic combinatorics, probabilistic and asymptotic methods
office:   NS309
phone:   (574) 520-4521
e-mail:   shapcott@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~shapcott



Yu Song

rank:   Associate Professor
degree:   Ph.D., Tulane University, 1991
interests:   Computational fluid dynamics, combustion, scientific computing
office:   NS319
phone:   (574) 520-4299
e-mail:   yusong@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~yusong




Craig Sumerix

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS308
phone:   (574) 520-4379
e-mail:   csumerix@iusb.edu



Elaine Throm

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS303
phone:   (574) 520-4541
e-mail:   ethrom@iusb.edu



Mihaela Vajiac

rank:   Senior Lecturer
office:   NS313
phone:   (574) 520-5506
e-mail:   mvajiac@iusb.edu



Dennis Vandenberg

rank:   Associate Faculty
office:   NS308
phone:   (574) 520-4379
e-mail:   djvanden@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~djvanden



Lynn R. Williams, Dean Emeritus, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

rank:   Emeritus Faculty
degree:   Ph.D., University of Kentucky, 1971
interests:   Statistics, mathematical modeling, nonlinear functional analysis
e-mail:   lwilliam@iusb.edu



Dennis Wolf

rank:   Senior Lecturer
office:   NS372
phone:   (574) 520-5546
e-mail:   dwolf@iusb.edu
webpage:   http://pages.iu.edu/~dwolf