IU South Bend News Room

New FACET Members

Posted on: May 24th, 2013 by

Four Indiana University South Bend faculty members were selected to be part of the new class of the Faculty Colloquium on Excellence in Teaching (FACET), an interdisciplinary organization composed of more than 500 of IU’s best teachers.

Seventeen faculty members from IU East, IPFW, IUPUI, IUPUC, IU Southeast and Bloomington make up the entire class. The four IU South Bend faculty members are:

  • Sue Anderson, nursing, IU South Bend
  • Tracey Trottier, political science, IU South Bend
  • Joshua Wells, sociology and anthropology, IU South Bend
  • Christina Gerken, women and gender studies, IU South Bend

They comprise the largest group of inductees from all the regional campuses and Bloomington.

Nominated by a fellow faculty member or administrator, FACET members must have a minimum of four years of service at IU, demonstrate dedication to the excellence of teaching, be committed to their own continued growth through reflection and serve the greater university community by supporting and developing their colleagues’ professional growth.

Established in 1989, FACET advocates for pedagogical innovation and advances faculty development through activities such as the Leadership Institute, FACET’s Adjunct Faculty and Lecturers Conference, or FALCON, and the Future Faculty Teaching Fellows Summer Institute. Across IU campuses, FACET engages in peer review activities to recognize and develop teaching excellence.

The remaining 13 IU faculty members who have been named FACET members this year:


Check out all the events happening on campus

Spotlighting Success on YouTube