Political Science
Elizabeth Bennion

Elizabeth Bennion

2181 Wiekamp Hall
(574) 520-4128
CV: Bennion CV.pdf

Brief Biography:

Dr. Elizabeth Bennion joined IU South Bend’s Department of Political Science in 1999. She teaches American politics, with an emphasis on political behavior. Professor Bennion is the founding director of IUSB’s American Democracy Project, Director of Voter Services and Education for the League of Women Voters of the South Bend Area, and host of WNIT’s live weekly television program Politically Speaking. In these capacities she moderates political discussions, public issue forums, and candidate debates for local, state, and national candidates. A nationally recognized expert on civic education and political engagement, Professor Bennion has won numerous awards for her teaching and service, and has published widely in academic books, journals and newsletters. She is currently working on several publications reporting the results of a national survey of student leaders and a series of voter registration field experiments. Professor Bennion is co-editor of two books on teaching civic engagement: Teaching Civic Engagement: From Student to Active Citizen (2013) and Teaching Civic Engagement Across the Disciplines (2017). She lives in South Bend with her husband and four children.

Honors and Awards

Barbara Burch Award for Faculty Leadership in Civic Engagement, 2016.

  •  National award presented by the American Association of State Colleges & Universities to a senior faculty member who has demonstrated leadership in advancing the civic learning and engagement of undergraduate students.

Brian Douglas Hiltunen Faculty Award, 2016.

  • Statewide award by Indiana Campus Compact to one faculty member annually. This statewide award recognizes the Outstanding Contribution to the Scholarship of Engagement.

Maud Wood Park Award, 2015.

  •  Local award presented by the League of Women Voters of the South Bend Area for service to the League and the advancement of civic education and engagement in the Michiana area.

Legacy Award, 2015.

  • Campus award presented to one faculty member annually by the Alumni Association of IU South Bend. Awarded to a faculty member who has made a significant positive impact on the lives of students.

City Council Resolution 4347-14, 2014.

  • A Resolution of the Common Council of the City of South Bend Publicly Commending IUSB Professor Elizabeth Bennion who Serves our Community through her Excellence in Teaching, Student-Faculty Interaction, and Collaboration in Life-Long Learning. April 28, 2014.

Trustees’ Teaching Award, 2014.

  • University award for teaching excellence given annually to no more than 6% of the faculty on each campus.
    • Dr. Bennion also won this award in 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, & 2012.

Michiana Forty under 40, 2012.

  • Community award presented by the St. Joseph County Chamber of Commerce to recognize 40 young professionals under the age of 40 for their contribution and accomplishments in their workplace and community.

Club Advisor of the Year, 2011.

  • Student Government Association award presented to the student organization advisor who has demonstrated the greatest commitment to, and success promoting, student involvement.

Eldon F. Lundquist Award, 2011.

  • Campus award presented to a meritorious faculty member of Indiana University, South Bend Campus, who has exhibited excellence in teaching, scholarly or artistic achievement, and diversified relevant service, including community service throughout the Michiana region.

W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service, 2009.

  • All-IU award presented to a faculty member of Indiana University (any campus) who has provided exceptional service (continuing effort and unusual achievement) to the university, to the profession, and/or to the community extending over a period of at least five years.

Faculty Colloquium for Excellence in Teaching, 2004.

  • A colloquium for university teachers who have demonstrated a high level of commitment to teaching excellence. Faculty are selected (and inducted) from all IU campuses after a rigorous campuswide and statewide review process