Skip to main site navigation
Skip to main content
Switch to text-only view
Switch to default view


The Psychology Department makes three annual awards, the Award for Excellence in Psychology, the James R. Haines Research Award, and the Outstanding Service Award. Recipients and details about Dr. Haines and the Haines Award may be found here. In addition to the annual excellence award, a similar excellence award was presented annually during most of the years the department awarded the Master in Applied Psychology degree. The degree is no longer being offered by the department.

Pictures of Psychology Award Recipients

2013 Zhang
2012 Hilliker, Kajzer, and Lentine
Kajzer, Brown
Jones, Purtee
Ward, Kewson, Urschel
Bates, Moser
Yamaguchi, Guthrie, Barth
Fruth, Borosh, Heines-Thomas
Miller, Shively, Coryn (2002 Haines Award recipient)

Award for Excellence in Psychology Recipients

1966 No Award Mentioned
1967 Marilyn Louise Smith
1968 Thomas Eugene Brown
1969 Trudy Suzanne Kirkley
1970 Jane Clare Mayhew and Kathleen Ann Muldoon
1971 Louise Marion Fogarty and Russell Dean Slabaugh
1972 David W. Lauver and Kathleen Ann Myszak
1973 A. Chris Downs
1974 Dulcy Ann Gray
1975 Phyllis O. (Perkins) Olson
1976 George J. Bronicki and Joan E. Albrecht
1977 Cheryl L. Housand
1978 Thomas Jerger and Lynn Reiter
1979 Debra L. Mattison and Christine E. Nowicki
1980 Lynda C. Abusamra
1981 Donna B. Evangelisti and Linda D. Monroe
1982 Maureen A. Skurski
1983 Denise J. Peters
1984 Jean Badry and Robert Bontempo
1985 Janice E. Gard and Craig Witkowski
1986 Deborah Lee O'Laughlin
1987 Loraine Barker-Witkowski
1988 Linda Kintz
1989 No Award Given
1990 Carol J. Shilling and Christine Smith
1991 Saige Swank and Diana Streevy-Asher
1992 Robert Folk and Roxanne Thomas
1993 Julia Louis McDonald
1994 Gabriele Behar
1995 Hillary Bubb and Peggie Perry
1996 Scott Simerlein and Christine Freel
1997 Steven A. Spencer
1998 Stacey L. Osowski
1999 Lori Lupresto
2000 Sesi Ayadurai
2001 Suzanne J. Albright
2002 Wendy L. Gunggoll
2003 Nancy L. Miller
2004 Jeanne Fruth
2005 Motonori Yamaguchi
2006 Sarah York Bates
2007 Jennifer Kewson, Jessica Urschel, and Erin Ward
2008 Jeff Brooks
2009 Ben Smith, Sarah Mertes
2010 Andrea Jones
2011 Cassandra brown
2012 Ashley Hilliker, Mitchell Kajzer, and Melissa Lentine
2013 Hansong Zhang

Award for Oustanding Service in Psychology Recipients

2010 Andrea Jones
2011 Mitchell Kajzer
2012 Ashley Hilliker
2013 Hansong Zhang

Masters in Applied Psychology Award for Excellence Recipients

2001 Laura Talcott & John Hundley
2002 Merinell E. Heines
2003 No Award Given
2004 Chris Coryn & Merinell Heines-Thomas
2005 No Award Given
2006 No Award Given

The MA in Applied Psychology was discontinued in November 2006.

James R. Haines Research Award and recipients