Skip to main site navigation
Skip to main content
Switch to text-only view
Switch to default view

Haines Award

The James R. Haines Award was established to honor the memory of Dr. Haines and recognize outstanding research efforts by undergraduates in psychology at Indiana University South Bend.

James R. Haines
James R. Haines, Ph.D. (1938-1994)

In April 1994, the Psychology Department established the James R. Haines Research Award. Dr. Haines was an IUSB faculty member for 22 years, achieving the rank of Associate Professor and serving for many years as department chairperson. He came to IUSB in 1971 after receiving his Ph.D. from the University of Kansas. His primary scholarly interests were in the psychology of music, perceptual learning, and cognitive psychology. Jim taught courses in experimental psychology and his course in learning was one of the most popular in the psychology curriculum. Jim had a passion for teaching research methods, encouraged student research, and loved to spread the gospel that "psychology is a science." In addition to his university contributions and efforts, Jim was a fine musician (he had played the bass in a jazz group). Dr. Haines died after an illness on January 20, 1994.

Haines Research Award Recipients

1995 Melissa M. Kroger
1996 Penny A. Lukenbill
1997 Mary Ann McGwin
1998 Stacey L. Osowski
1999 Geraldine Bryan
2000 Deborah Lichtenbarger
2001 Lori Butchko
2002 Chris L. Coryn
2003 Debra S. Shively
2004 Stephanie Borosh
2005 Motonori Yamaguchi [Honorable Mention: Sarah Barth & David Guthrie]
2006 Tracy Moser
2007 Erin Ward
2008 Jeff Brooks
2009 Lauren Wachowicz
2010 Andrea Jones & Nicole Purtee
2011 Mitch Kajzer
2012 No award given

Haines Award Papers

2009 Haines Award paper (Wachowicz)
2008 Haines Award paper (Brooks)
2007 Haines Award paper (Ward)
2006 Haines Award paper (Moser)
2005 Haines Award paper (Yamaguchi)
2004 Haines Award paper (Borosh)
2003 Haines Award paper (Shively)