Sociology and Anthropology

Faculty and Staff


David Blouin, Ph.D. (Indiana University Bloomington, 2008), Associate Professor, Sociology of Culture

Betsy Lucal, Ph.D. (Kent State University, 1996), Professor, Gender and Sexuality, Classical and Contemporary Social Theory, Intersectionality, Sociology of Food

Gail McGuire, Ph.D. (The Ohio State University, 1997), Associate Professor, Race and Gender Stratification, Work/Labor Market, Informal Networks, Social Movements

Theo Randall, Ph.D. (University of Kentucky, 2006), M.P.H. (University of Illinois 1998), Associate Professor, Anthropology, Medical pluralism, African Culture, Substance Abuse, Medical Anthropology, Reproductive Health, Applied Anthropology

Zachary Schrank, Ph.D. (University of Arizona, 2013), Assistant Professor, Theory, Consumer Culture and Society, Sustainable Consumption and Alternative Economies

Scott Sernau, Ph.D. (Cornell University, 1991), Professor, Director of International Programs, Economy and Society, Community Sociology, Race and Ethnicity, Family

Rebecca Torstrick, Ph.D. (Washington University, 1993), Professor, Political Anthropology, Gender, Ethnicity, Racism and Nationalism, Violence and Cultural Conflict, Feminist Theory and Border Studies, Middle East, Israel    HomePage

James (Jay) VanderVeen, Ph.D. (Indiana University Bloomington, 2006), Associate Professor, Archaeology, Prehistoric and Historic Caribbean Contact Between Cultures, Marine Research, Scientific Diving, Historic North American Class and Race Issues

Joshua Wells, Ph.D. (Indiana University Bloomington, 2008), Associate Professor, Archaeology, Social Informatics

Emeritus Faculty

Ernest Brandewie, Ph.D. (University of Chicago, 1966)

Linda Fritschner, Ph.D. (University of California, Davis, 1973)

Elizabeth (Betty) Mooney, M.A. (University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1953), Doctor of Arts (Institute for Advanced Study of Human Sexuality, 2006), Merit Status.

In Memoriam

Ariela Royer, Ph.D. (University of Illinois at Chicago, 1990), Associate Professor.

Associate Faculty

Alison Moss, M.A. (The University of Illinois at Chicago, 2010)

Lorren Pettit, M.B.A. (University of Dallas, 2007), M.S. (Baylor University, 1988)

Kevin Tholin, M.A. (Western Illinois University, 1987)

Chantel White, Ph.D.. (Boston University, 2013)


Kathi Piekarski, B.A. (Indiana University), Department Secretary