Search

Open Classrooms

One of the best ways to get new teaching ideas is to visit someone’s classroom.

Whether the teacher is in your discipline or in a very different area, whether award-winning or a novice, whether using your favorite teaching strategy or something entirely different, you are sure to pick up some great ideas.

If you are interested in a visit, check our list below for faculty who have volunteered to welcome colleagues into their classroom. You may contact the faculty member directly to ask for more information and/or to arrange a visit.

Name

Email

Discipline

Course type

Strategies

Beth Kern

Bkern@iusb.edu

Accounting

200 level, large lecture with activities

Flipped, active learning, peer mentor assist

Betsy Lucal

blucal@iusb.edu

Sociology, MLS, Women’s & Gender Studies

100-500 level

Flipped classroom, active learning, leading discussions/seminars, teaching large classes, difficult/controversial/sensitive topics, teaching first-year students, use of exemplars

Hope Davis

hsdavis@iusb.edu

Secondary Education/ Literacy

(spring only) 400 level, hybrid with on-site meetings, lecture, collaborative activities, and large-/small-group discussion

Complemented by Canvas assignments, surveys, discussion threads; problem-based learning paired with field-experience; application of instructional strategies for reading/literacy in disciplinary fields

Gary Kern

gkern@iusb.edu

Operations Management  & Information Technology(B&E)

200 & 300 level, flipped class with problem-solving, case discussions, lab sessions

Flipped classroom, active learning activities

Julia Gressick

jgressic@iusb.edu

Education

200 level ed psych with lectures and activities; 300 level hybrid project-based instructional technology

Gamification, problem and project-based learning, online learning 

Barb White

whitebj@iusb.edu

Nursing

Pediatric nursing, 300 level

Clickers, case stidies, and coloring

Sharon Jones

jones240@iusb.edu

Nursing

300 level

Case studies, active learning, Canvas

Dé Bryant

 dbryant@iusb.edu

Community Psych 

300 level and 400 level with simulations and team tasks

Flipped, active learning, problem-based learning 

Your name here!

Would you like to volunteer to have an Open Classroom? Just contact us at UCET@iusb.edu.